Exclude product feed exports with Blacklist

Exclude product feed exports with the Blacklist feature in Productsup.

Introduction

The Blacklist feature lets you define the products in your data feed that you want to exclude from your export. It’s a list containing terms that Productsup skips when they match defined terms. It works similar to the Skip Row if Value In box, but you can share it with other sites. And if you modify your data feed, the blacklist updates automatically. This means you only then need to update the blacklist once for your account.

The Blacklist feature allows you to exclude data feeds by using keywords or a list of product IDs. For example, In Germany, food manufacturers face restrictions on what ingredients they can add to their products. This list allows you to exclude products that contain prohibited ingredients.

You must manually create the Blacklist feature, as it is an individual list.

You can choose between Default List and Default List (URL).

With Default List, you manually enter all the terms. Whereas with Default List (URL), you can import a CSV or TXT file containing all of the used terms in the Blacklist.

Note

The Blacklist is not case sensitive and does not require an exact word match. However, you must enter a complete word to use the Blacklist.

This document contains information about Default List. See the Default List (URL) document to learn more about the Blacklist (from URL) feature.

Create a Blacklist with Default List

1. In a site, select Lists from the main menu, then select ADD A NEW LIST.

lists_add_new.png

2. Select Type, choose Default List, then enter a name for your list and select Save.

default_list.png

3. In the Sharing tab, choose where you want this Blacklist to be visible, in either Site, Project, or Account.

  • Site - The list is only available for this site

  • Project - The list is available for all sites within the project

  • Account - The list is available for all sites within the account

sharing.png

4. Return to the Settings tab.

5. Select Add to create terms that you want to skip in all items exported to your channels.

terms.png

Note: The Blacklist is not case sensitive. However, if the text contains quotation marks, you must also add quotation marks.

Rename or delete a list

Rename a list by selecting the edit icon located next to the list title. Then enter a new title and save it by selecting the checkmark.

Delete a list by going to the Danger Area tab, then select Delete.

danger_area.png

Use the Blacklist in Data View

1. When you’ve completed your list, go to Data View from the main menu.

2. Then choose the item, select Edit in the column, and add the Blacklist box.

3. In the Blacklist field, choose the newly-created list in the dropdown.

blacklist_box.png

If the terms from your blacklist appear for any item, the blacklist prevents the item(s) from being exported. In Data View, skipped items appear orange. When you hover over them, you can see a displayed message that explains why the blacklist skipped or excluded items.

List origin

If there is a shared site in a Project or Account, you’ll see the site’s Origin when you view the list for a non-source site. For example,

  • A list originates in site A

  • The shared list is at Account-level

  • A user views the list in site B, where you’ve associated site B with the Account

  • A user sees the site ID origin for site A under Sharing

origin.png