Exclude product feed exports with Negative Blacklist

Exclude product feed exports with Negative Blacklist in Productsup.

Introduction

The Negative Blacklist lets you specify the products in your data feed that you want to exclude from export. It’s a list containing terms that Productsup skips when items don’t contain a specific term(s). It works similar to the Skip Row if Value In box. You can use keywords or a list of product IDs in the Negative Blacklist.

Note

The Negative Blacklist is not similar to a Whitelist, as a Whitelist prevents items from being skipped.

Learn more about not excluding items in the Whitelist document.

With Negative Blacklist, you can choose between Default List and Default List (URL).

With Default List, you manually enter all the terms. Whereas with Default List (URL), you can import a CSV or TXT file containing all of the used terms in the Blacklist. The Default List (URL) updates during every import.

Note

If you share the list on Account- level, the list only updates if you perform an import in the original site where you created the list.

Create a Negative Blacklist with Default List (URL)

  1. In a site, select Lists from the main menu, then select ADD A NEW LIST.

    lists_add_new.png
  2. Select Type, choose Default List (URL), then enter a name for your list and select Save.

    lists_add_new_url.png
    • Site - The Normalization List is only available for this site

    • Project - The list is available for all sites within the project

    • Account - The list is available for all sites within the account

      sharing.png
  3. Open the Source tab in your list, and enter the following information before using your list:

    • Enter the list file source URL in the Source URL field.

    • (Optional) Enter the username and password.

    • Confirm that the list file contains a header. The list feature skips the first row in the file regardless. Here’s an example of the file header:

    Terms

    shoes

    sneaker

    boot

  4. Enter the delimiter and declare the encoding if it’s not UTF-8.

    list_source_def_url.png
  5. You can now select the Import button to begin importing the file. During imports, the platform updates the list each time.

Rename or delete a list

Rename a list by selecting the edit icon located next to the list title. Then enter a new title and save it by selecting the checkmark.

Delete a list by going to the Danger Area tab, then select Delete.

danger_area_neg_blacklist_url.png

Create a Negative Blacklist with Default List

  1. In a site, select Lists from the main menu, then select ADD A NEW LIST.

    lists_add_new.png
  2. Select Type, choose Default List, then enter a name for your list and select Save.

    default_list.png
  3. In the Sharing tab, choose where you want this Blacklist to be visible, in either Site, Project, or Account.

    • Site - The list is only available for this site

    • Project - The list is available for all sites within the project

    • Account - The list is available for all sites within the account

      sharing.png
  4. Return to the Settings tab.

  5. Select Add to create terms that you want to skip in all items exported to your channels.

    neg_blacklist_terms.png

Note

The Negative Blacklist is not case sensitive. However, if the text contains quotation marks, you must also add quotation marks.

Rename or delete a list

Rename a list by selecting the edit icon located next to the list title. Then enter a new title and save it by selecting the checkmark.

Delete a list by going to the Danger Area tab, then select Delete.

danger_area_neg_black_list.png

Use the Negative Blacklist in Data View

  1. When you’ve completed your list, go to Data View from the main menu.

  2. Then choose the item, select Edit in the column, and add the Negative Blacklist box.

  3. In the Negative Blacklist field, choose the newly-created list in the drop-down.

    negative_blacklist_box.png

If none of the terms in your Negative Blacklist appear for any item, the blacklist prevents the item(s) from being exported. In Data View, skipped items appear orange. When you hover over them, you can see a displayed message that explains why the blacklist skipped or excluded items.

List origin

Note

The list originating from a URL only updates when the origin site imports.

If there is a shared site in a Project or Account, you can see the site’s Origin when you view the list for a non-source site. For example,

  • A list originates in site A

  • The shared list is at Account- level

  • A user views the list in site B, where you’ve associated site B with the Account

  • A user sees the site ID origin for site A under Sharing

origin.png