User types and access rights

Learn about the three user types and their access rights in Productsup.

Introduction

There are three user types in Productsup:

  1. Administrators

  2. Read-Write users

  3. Read-Only users

Administrators

Administrators have the right to perform all actions within an account. This includes:

  • Accessing all projects and sites

  • Creating, changing, and deleting all projects and sites

  • Inviting and deleting users

  • Providing users with access to sites or projects

  • Specifying Read-Write or Read-Only access rights for users in each site or project

  • Changing the rights of other administrators in the account or demoting administrators to users

Follow these steps to add new users if you are an administrator:

  1. Go to User Management from your account's main menu.

  2. Select INVITE USERS in the top right-hand corner of the User Management page.

  3. Add the email address(es) of those you wish to invite.

    1. To invite multiple users at once, you can add one email address per line.

  4. Select whether they should have Admin or User access.

    1. If you select them to be added as users, you can then add sites/projects they should have access to.

    2. When adding sites/projects, you can define whether access should be Read-Write or Read-Only.

  5. Select Save.

adding_new_user.png

To learn how to delete users or change user access rights, see Set up User Management.

Read-Write users

A Read-Write user has access to the projects or sites that an administrator has made available to them only. Such users have the right to change those projects or sites as needed:

  • Edit site data

  • View and use all features on the site level

  • Create new sites

Read-Write users don't have the right to:

  • Invite new users

  • See the list of all users in an account

  • Assign additional access rights to themselves

    Note

    The administrator grants the required access if a user needs access to additional sites or projects.

At the site level, a Read-Write user has access to these features:

  • Dashboard

  • Data Map

  • Authentication

  • Data Sources

  • Data Services

  • Exports A/B

  • Designer

  • Dataflow

  • Data View

  • Lists

  • ROI Strategy

  • Reporting

  • Error Log

  • Monitor

  • Activity

  • Tracking

At the project level, Read-Write users have access to:

  • Dashboard

  • Authentication

  • Reporting

At the account level, Read-Write users can access only Overview and Authentication.

Read-Only users

A Read-Only user has the right to view only the sites or projects that an administrator has made available to them only and doesn't have the ability to edit anything in the platform.

Note

The administrator grants the required access if a user needs access to additional sites or projects.

Read-Only users have access to a restricted list of Productsup features. At the site level, Read-Only users can access these features:

  • Dashboard

  • Data Map

  • Data Services

  • Export A/B

  • Data View

  • Reporting

At the project level, Read-Only users have access to:

  • Dashboard

  • Authentication

  • Reporting

At the account level, Read-Only users can access only Overview and Authentication.